top of page
  • Writer's pictureHeavenly Chaos

Dear Mr. #15

In the Detention Center you were my muse as we recalled similar blues. We sat writing our own words about the obstacles that prevented us from making moves. Is it ironic that society has labeled us both crazy? I observed your observant ways, while you were pacing the cell like you were in a daze. Your face read “How did I get here?” Conversing with you made things in my life so clear. Yet on June 29th, 2016 A.D. you were denied your release, and I was saddened thinking you and I would never speak again. On June 30th, 2016 A.D. when the judge said “case dismissed,” I thought “How am I going to go back and tell #15 this?” “Feasting Fangs” was still fresh in my mind; they added insult to injury by telling me I would have to find my way back on my own time. What about our poetry? What if I wanted to say goodbye? Your voice echoed in mind, knowing that the day before you wanted to die. I may not have shown it, but I wanted to cry. It felt like the world was plotting against you, yet you could not understand why. I tried to motivate you as best as I could, hoping you would keep your head held high. I pray that you find your love in the sky- keep faith in the Son, Jesus Holy Christ. You wrestle with faith in The Holy Bible and The Qu'Ran; just “Put no other GODS before me,” and know that “Jesus is alive.” I sincerely apologize for making you feel like I was feasting on your pain. I did not intend to make you feel like I was trampling you on First and Main. You bared your soul to me: ambitions, fears, and insecurities. Feelings on jump street; I am just glad that you trusted me! As you count the days until Aug 10th, 2016 A.D., reflect on life outside of the fence. Ignore your ignorant tempters- stand tall and do not flinch; just stand clear and allow them to dig their own trench.

Recent Posts

Comments


bottom of page